On display in York Castle Museum, as part of The Sixties exhibition, is a stunning example of a classic motor scooter. The Lambretta scooter became an iconic symbol of the youth culture known as the Mods. Manufactured in Milan, the name derives from the river Lambro which ran close to the production factory. First produced in 1947, the Lambretta was revolutionary in its design having three or four gears, engines ranging from 49cc – 198cc and having the engine mounted directly over the rear wheel. Such Italian scooters were the preferred choice of the Mods and were seen as an affordable and practical fashion accessory.
Situated along the River Kent stands Abbot Hall Art Gallery and Museum. Constructed of coursed squared rubble, the Hall was built in 1759 for Colonel George Wilson with the design of the building attributed to the English architect John Carr.
The two storey building was occupied by Colonel Wilson and his wife, Anne Sybile Harrison of Lancaster, from the year of Abbot Hall’s completion in 1762 until the property was sold in 1772. The regular flooding of the Kent meant considerable inconvenience for the inhabitants of the Hall and although the house itself was grand, there was little land to provide sufficient revenue for the running costs.
The ground floor features corniced fireplaces with Baroque foliate decoration and decorative plaster frames to the walls.
Abbot Hall was acquired by Kendal Borough Council in 1897 with the aim of turning the grounds into a public park to celebrate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee. In the following decades, the Hall sat deteriorating and faced with the threat of demolition in the early 1950’s, locals banded together in 1952 to save the building. Following appeals to the community for funds, Abbot Hall was restored and converted into an Art Gallery which opened to the public in September 1962.
Now managed by the Lakeland Arts Trust, Abbot Hall is Grade I Listed.
Located in Carlisle Cathedral is a monument to Bishop Harvey Goodwin. Born in 1818, Harvey was consecrated as the 58th Bishop of Carlisle in November 1869. A Cambridge academic, Harvey remained Bishop of Carlisle until his death in 1891. The monument consists of a bronze effigy of the Bishop with angels at the head and mitres at the feet. The monument is the work of the British Victorian sculptor Sir Hamo Thornycroft who studied at the Royal Academy. His work was influenced by his travels to Italy and France with an admiration of the Renaissance master sculptors. The sculpted bronze figure lies underneath an oak canopy decorated with a bronze inscription and coat of arms.